h1

An experiment for September

August 31, 2010

Has it really been more than a week since my last hilarity-filled blog post?  Seems so.  It takes serious energy to be as brilliant and magical as I am.  Where does the time go?!  I make the most spectacular plans each week, and then I realize the week is half over, and then it’s like… wait… yet ANOTHER week has passed?  Does this have something to do with getting older?  This is flummoxing, because I made it very clear to the Universe a few months back that I was done with aging.  In fact, I specifically stated that my body will now age backwards.  I even learned a new term for this last night:  youthing.  “Every day of my Life, I am youthing.”  And so it is!

I am still getting things done – progress with my writing, triathlon training, obedience work with my dog, meeting new people, taking better care of my body with food and my mind with spiritual practice, and all kinds of deliciousness.  Still, there is never as much accomplished as I’d prefer.  I’m learning to simply embrace where I am in the process though, be that a concrete task of looking for a car to purchase, or something more big picture like… I dunno… being a decent, authentic human being.  Yeah, that’s a good one.

Along those lines (sortof), I made a decision a few nights ago to undertake an experiment for the month of September.  I actually KNOW the results will be so mind-bogglingly incredible that it will continue beyond those 30 days, but for now, I’m saying September.  The experiment is to take the fear and human ego out of any and all decisions, and to simply trust the nudges and inspiration that come from within.  Easy right?  To follow through and boldly say “YES!”

For example, a few days ago as I was sitting quietly reading or perhaps pondering the Schrödinger equation – the fundamental equation of physics for describing quantum mechanical behavior, don’t you know – a  nudge came out of the blue:  “Maybe I should send such-and-such an email about blah-de-blah.”  [Nudges have been changed to protect the innocent.]  Immediately afterward, there was a flood of: “Well, if you do that, what about this?  What if they think THIS?  And how will they respond when THAT happens?!  And what if CNN finds out?!  No… definitely don’t do that!”  The more I study the Mind, the more I am fascinated by how it works, and how it often works very hard to deny us what may be a truly spectacular Life!

A quote from a friend’s Facebook page today sealed the September experiment deal for me.  It was written by Osho, an Indian mystic guru and philosopher (thanks, Wikipedia!):  “One needs to be an adventurer, always ready to risk the known for the Unknown.”  There is an earlier part of the quote that talks about living life dangerously, but I’m not sure I agree with that.  I think one can live fearlessly without ACTUAL danger.  Semantics, I suppose.

I’m sending that email to such-and-such about the blah-de-blah, by the way!  And the rest of the month… excited to see what happens!  I will do my best to document results.

Leave a Reply

